RSS Feed

Like taking back the night, only with our kids!

Posted on

My babysitters grand daughter keeps running away from home…

I get frantic knocks on the door asking if I can drive her places to look for this kid! She is 13 years old… Her mother is beside herself.. They live in a nice house, the kids get what they need and want, home life is good…

The mom has asked the police, CAS, anyone who will listen for help and still as soon as the kid gets home she runs away again!

This mom doesn’t know what to do!

Here is my advice…you can’t kick a 13 year old out but you are NOT required to make their stay comfortable! This isn’t the 4 seasons!

I would renovate my daughters bedroom into a yoga room or a craft room…. Something for me!
Then I would show her to the couch, zero privacy, no phone privileges, no creature comforts!

“Oh I’m sorry its 5am and I need to get ready for work, please vacate the couch, I need to put my shoes on!”

“Oh you need new shoes? Let’s go to the thrift store!”

“You want to use my computer? Sorry its sleeping right now!”

3 months pass…..

“You want your room back? Okay but here are the rules… Break them and the couch will be moved to the shed.”

You know why kids are out of control? Because parents coddle them! God forbid your 17 year old cross the street to catch the school bus, or that their little egos get hurt, or that you don’t replace the toys that they deliberately broke, or that you punish them, or give consequences, or that you just fucking parent them!

PUT THE PUREL down! Let your kids play in the dirt, let them make mud pies and dance in the rain! Let go of the leash and you will find your snowflake isn’t so fragile! We learn how to be good people by making bad decisions!

About Julia

Well I guess since you are still around... you didn't get Raptured either ... That means you are a SINNER... so stop judging me!

3 responses »

  1. I always live by this motto…

    If you love something let it go, if it doesn’t come back, hunt it down and kill it!

    Reply
  2. Best line!: ‘You want your room back? Okay but here are the rules… Break them and the couch will be moved to the shed.’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

